Lets get this video banned people!

Posted: October 7, 2011 in banned, banned commercial, product placement, Social Media, Viral marketing, Youtube

I read an article about yet another commercial that in last-minute got canceled as the content was “to shocking for the brand” according to the buyer. They still allowed the creators to spread the video online and it went viral in matter of days.
(this is not the original video)

This video is not the first case, which makes me wonder why the companies accept it to go so far that they have a finished product before they says no to it. The idea did strike me that they could be doing this on purpose to hype their own commercials and be able to put the word “banned” in their videos.

I know that many people likes to watch and spread banned videos but I wondered if this would be enough for a company to want to ban their own commercials.

This is a hard question to answer, if it is even possible.

However, I felt that I needed more information in order for me to be able to try to answer it. So I made an experiment.

The experiment took place on one of the most, if not the most popular video sites. I am of course talking about YouTube. The point of the experiment was to try to see how much the word “banned” would effect the popularity of a video. In order to see this I therefore took the same video that contained 5 banned car commercials and uploaded it twice to YouTube on two different accounts. The first video I called “The 5 best banned car commercials” and the second one  was called “The 5 best car commercials”. I uploaded them when using two browsers to make sure they came up at the same time on YouTube. After that the videos got the same “commercial” – as little as possible. By doing this I tried to make sure that the videos had the same possibilities to compete with each other.

I did this roughly two weeks ago and again to make sure they could compete on similar ground I write this post revealing their names first now.

So how did it go?
In present time the video containing the word “banned” has had 764 views, 3 likes and 2 comments. The other video has 88 views, no likes and no comments. This is just short statistics regarding the videos and in my next post I will tell more about the statistics and try to answer the question I asked earlier here.

Do companies want to ban their own commercials?

Cheers
89Perra

Comments
  1. Alina says:

    very reavealing experiment about what catches people’s attention. good job! 🙂

    • Perra says:

      Thank you 🙂
      I will write more about the results this weekend and hopefully they can reveal something interesting.
      Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Cheers 89Perra

  2. Hah, I wrote a long essay about the benefits of using shock tactics when advertising and how pushing it too far, even though it gets your ad removed, can also drastically increase your view count.

    Interesting topic choice, it’s inspired me to try and dig out my college coursework!

    • Just goes to show the power of social media platforms nowadays in comparison to years ago! Where before you’d try not to get it banned, now it doesn’t matter! Because it’ll spread virally across the internet with ease, and so very cheaply.

      • Perra says:

        First, thanks for reading the blog and leaving a comment.
        Secondly, indeed the speed that these kind of commercials spreads with are very fast, and therefore rather attractive. Especially if the organization behind the commercial are targeting a younger audience. I will post the statistics for the videos tonight unless I fall asleep and try and draw some conclusions from them as soon as possible.

        Again, thanks for reading and nice work with your blog!

        Cheers 89Perra

  3. […] Guide To Maximizing Your Marketing StrategyCommon Sense Web Video SolutionsLets get this video banned people!LinkedIn’s Guide To Maximizing Your Marketing StrategyCommon Sense Web Video […]

  4. Yuriko says:

    Interesting results, found according to real fact by your experience! Good job.

    “banned” 😉

Leave a Reply

